background code Raving Dove's Orange Dove LogoRaving Dove
background code
About Us
Current Edition
Humanitarian Sites
Literary Links

The Pushcart Prize

The Pushcart Prize is a prestigious American literary prize by Pushcart Press that honors the best poetry, short fiction, essays or "literary whatnot" published in the small presses over the previous year. Magazine and small book press editors are invited annually to nominate work they've published. Anthologies of the selected works have been published annually since 1976. Publishers Weekly declared The Pushcart Prize to be one of the most important projects in American publishing history. Bill Henderson, founder and editor of the Pushcart Prize, received the 2006 National Book Critics Circle's Lifetime Achievement Award and the Poets & Writers/Barnes & Noble Writers for Writers Award.

Pushcart Prize editions are found in most libraries and bookstores. Each volume contains an index of past selections, plus lists of outstanding presses. Published by W.W. Norton Company, at 800-223-2584.

Raving Dove's 2009 Nominations:


New Shirt, by Louis Gallo -- Spring 2009
Sweet Nectar of Insight, by Harry Youtt -- Spring 2009
Bullet (for Brian Turner), by Richard Schiffman -- Fall 2009
Halloween, by Louis Gallo -- Winter 2009-2010


The Pieces of Ester, by Tovli Simiryan -- Summer 2009


Black Air, by Niall Joseph -- Fall 2009

ISSN 1941-0441

Sitemap   Testimonials   Past Editions   Disclaimer/Privacy  

Raving Dove, Inc., West Linn, OR 97068 / All writing, photography and art copyrighted to rightful owners.